Gory Horror Movie Love

After watching the Human Centipede II, and rhapsodizing upon its gory merits to a friend (who does not like gory movies), it started me thinking on why I like gory horror.  In the real world, I do not like blood, nor do I like looking at real-life deaths or accidents.  So why do I like gory horror movies.

My friend said she does not like that particular genre of horror because it is stupid.  I responded that that was precisely why I love them.  However, I could see in her eyes, that she did not understand this.  For her: Stupid = Not worth it/Not watchable – But this is not what I mean.

So, as you can see, it is quite a hard concept to vocalize or to write out.  It isn’t the stupidity (in itself) that I like, nor do I like the gore in itself.  I got to realize, that it is the absurdity of the gore, and storylines, and nudity, and all manner of depravity that I like.  Absurdity!

Texas Chainsaw Massacre

Texas Chainsaw Massacre

When I see a man get his face chopped off (not his head, but face), I laugh with glee and delight.  Or perhaps when a young topless woman is slashed through the heart, it puts a smile on my face.  Not because I am psychotic, but because of the hilariously absurd nature of the horror genre.  I can accurately say that the average horror movie is meant to be funny in some capacity.  The reasons being are that it is really hard to pull off a legitimately scary movie.  Off the top of my head, the only gory movie that gave me some chills was the original Texas Chainsaw massacre.

I for one am happy of my love for campy, silly, and violent horror movies.  And it turns out, it isn’t the deplorable violence that gets me excited, but the ludicrous plateau of silly, that the horror genre brings.

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter:

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 66 other followers

